Cooking and Nutrition in the National Curriculum

Since September 2014, the national curriculum has included a specific requirement for schools to teach Cooking and Nutrition at Key Stages 1 and 2.
It focuses on three key areas of learning:
  1. Healthy eating and nutrition.
  2. Where food comes from.
  3. Practical cooking.
Key stage 1
Pupils should be taught to:
  • Use the basic principles of a healthy and varied diet to prepare dishes.
  • Understand where food comes from.
Key stage 2
Pupils should be taught to:
  • Understand and apply the principles of a healthy and varied diet.
  • Prepare and cook a variety of predominantly savoury dishes using a range of cooking techniques.
  • Understand seasonality, and know where and how a variety of ingredients are grown, reared, caught and processed.
In school, pupils will be learning:
  • About healthy eating through understanding the Eat Well Guide and learning that different foods provide nutrients and how these affect the body.
  • About a range of foods and how they are grown, transported and sold.
  • Key food preparation and cooking skills and how to cook a range of healthy, savoury dishes.
  • About a range of ingredients from around the world and  how to identify and name them.
At Brookfield, children in Years 1 to 6 will be taught one cooking and nutrition topic each year as part of the D&T curriculum. Within that unit they will be given three separate opportunities to make/cook healthy recipes.